Which football clubs have won the league title in their centenary year? | The Knowledge

Plus: yo-yo clubs avoiding each other, statues of bookable offences and which match produced the most pundits? Mail us your questions or tweet @TheKnowledge_GU“How many clubs worldwide have won the league title in their centenary year and which was the first?” asks Masai Graham.Quite a few clubs have celebrated the big 100 with a league title, Masai. Alan Gomes gets the ball rolling with an example in Portugal. “Porto’s official date of foundation is September 1893. And Porto won the Portuguese title for the 1992-93 season. There is, however, some controversy about when Porto were founded. The club recognises 1893 as its official foundation year, however, the club’s founder, António Nicolau de Almeida, was persuaded in the late-1890s by his English wife to abandon football, which she apparently deemed “too violent”. The club lay dormant until 1906, when it was “refounded”. But if you want to use 1906 as the starting point instead of 1893, well, Porto won the 2005-06 Portuguese league as well.”