Eredivisie Overview and History


Eredivisie is the top level football competition in the Netherlands. This league was founded in 1956.

It consists of 18 Clubs, each club meets the other twice, home and away. At the end of each season, the last two clubs get relegated to Eeerste Divisie, which is the first division.

Throughout the years, three clubs have dominated Eredivisie: Ajax, PSV Eindhoven and Feyenoord.

They are called the Big Three.

As of the 2020–21 season, it is ranked the sixth-best league in Europe by UEFA.

Eredivisie Player records

Player Appearances

RankNameGamesPlaying position
1 Pim Doesburg687Goalkeeper
2 Jan Jongbloed684Goalkeeper
3 Piet Schrijvers576Goalkeeper

Player Goals

RankNameGoalsGamesGoals per gamePlaying position
1 Willy van der Kuijlen3115450.57Forward
2 Ruud Geels2663920.68Forward
3 Johan Cruijff2163090.70Forward
4 Kees Kist2123720.60Forward
5 Tonny van der Linden208Forward

Most titles

PSV Eindhoven2416
HVV Den Haag101
Sparta Rotterdam6
Go Ahead Eagles45
Koninklijke HFC33
Willem II31
HBS Craeyenhout3
Heracles Almelo21
ADO Den Haag2
NAC Breda14
FC Twente13
Roda JC Kerkrade12
Be Quick12
FC Eindhoven12
SC Enschede11
FC Den Bosch11
De Volewijckers1
HFC Haarlem1
Quick Den Haag1
VV Concordia1

Most Successful Eredivisie Clubs



Ajax is the most successful club in Dutch football. They are an Amesterdam based club that was founded on 18 March 1900. Since the establishment of Eredivisie, Ajax and two other teams, PSV Eindhoven and Feyenoord have been dominating the league.

According to statistical data by the International Federation of Football History & Statistics. Ajax were the seventh most successful European team of the 20th century.

Ajax Honours

  •  Eredivisie (36; record):
  • KNVB Cup (20; record):
  • Johan Cruyff Shield (9):
  • European Cup / UEFA Champions League (4; Dutch record):
  • European Cup Winners’ Cup (1; Dutch record):
  • UEFA Cup (1):
  • Super Competition / UEFA Super Cup (2; Dutch record):
  • Intercontinental Cup (2; Dutch record):

PSV Eindhoven

PSV Eindhoven
PSV Eindhoven

Philips Sport Vereniging, or shortly PSV and internationally recognized as PSV Eindhoven is the second most successful club in the history of Dutch Football. They are based in Eindhoven in the Netherlands.

Along with Ajax and Feyenoord, they have been dominating the Eredivisie since its foundation in 1956.

PSV Eindhoven was established in 1913 as a team for Philips employees.

PSV birthed many stars including, but not limited to: Romário, Ronaldo, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Park Ji-sung, Arjen Robben, Georginio Wijnaldum and Memphis Depay.

Ever since the foundation of the club their stadium has been Philips Stadion.

PSV Eindhoven Honours

  • Eredivisie: 24
  • KNVB Cup: 10
  • Johan Cruyff Shield: 13(record)
  • European Cup / UEFA Champions League: 1
  • UEFA Cup / UEFA Europa League: 1



Feyenoord Rotterdam was established in 1908 as Wilhelmina. They changed many names before settling on Feyenoord in 1912, which is the same name as the neighbourhood the club is located in.

Since 1937, the club’s home ground has been Stadion Feijenoord, which is the second-largest stadium in the Netherlands.

The most successful period for the club was the 1960s and the 1970s.

Feyenoord and Ajax have a huge, long-lasting rivalry, both representing the two biggest cities in the country.

The matches between the two are called De Klassieker which means the Classic.

Feyenoord Honours

  • Eredivisie: 15
  • KNVB Cup: 13
  • Johan Cruyff Shield: 4
  • UEFA Champions League / European Cup: 1
  • UEFA Europa League / UEFA Cup: 2
  • Intercontinental Cup: 1

Eredivisie with Live Koora

You can follow all the games of the top league in the Netherlands, Eredivisie. This Live Koora football scores site covers all the live scores, the settled scores, inform you what are the upcoming games, shed some highlights on the games, show statistical data and much more.

You can even download the Livekoora App if you wish to follow the game via your mobile and get a smoother experience.

Eredivisie FAQ

Who is the most successful club in Eredivisie history?

Ajax Amsterdam is the most successful club in Eredivisie history with 36 titles.

Which teams are the Big Three in Eredivisie?

Ajax, PSV Eindhoven and Feyenoord are the top three teams that have been dominating Eredivisie since its foundation in 1956 as they have won 75 out of a possible 132 League Titles.

livekoora-google-play livekoora-app-store
Copyright © 2022 Live Koora