Super League

Super League

Süper Lig History & Overview

Commonly known as Süper Lig, but it is officially called Spor Toto Super Lig for sponsorship reasons, is the top division football league in Türkiye.

Süper Lig

19 clubs compete from August till May. The bottom three teams get relegated to the first division.

The Süper Lig was established in 1923 and is currently ranked the 20th top league by UEFA.

The champions of Süper Lig qualify to the group stage of Champions League whereas the runners-up qualify for the second qualifying round of the Champions League. The third place qualifies for the third qualifying round of the Europa League, and fourth place qualifies for the second qualifying round of the same competition

Süper Lig has been mostly dominated by three teams: Galatasaray, Fenerbahçe, and Beşiktaş , which are all from Istanbul.

You can check all things about the Turkish Super League including games scores, stats, highlights, Latest Football Results, league table on Live Koora.

Süper Lig Winners

Beşiktaş 1614
İstanbul Başakşehir12

Süper Lig Player Records

Top Goal Scorers

RankPlayerGoalsAppearancesGoal Rate
1Hakan Şükür2494890.51
2Tanju Çolak2402820.85
3Hami Mandıralı2194760.46
4Metin Oktay2172580.84
5Aykut Kocaman2003600.58
6Feyyaz Uçar1913760.51
7Burak Yılmaz1883270.57
8Serkan Aykut1883360.56
9Umut Bulut1635150.31
10Fevzi Zemzem1463050.48

Player Appearances

RankPlayerAppsYears Active
1Umut Bulut5151999–2011, 2012–2021
2Oğuz Çetin5031981–2000
3Rıza Çalımbay4941980–1996
4Hakan Şükür4891987–2000, 2003–2008
5Hami Mandıralı4761984–1998, 1999–2003
6Kemal Yıldırım4751976–1995
7Mehmet Nas4471997–2014
8Recep Çetin4371984–2001
9Müjdat Yetkiner4291979–1995
10Bülent Korkmaz4281988–2005

Most Successful Süper Lig Teams

Galatasaray Spor Kulübü


Galatasaray is a branch of Galatasaray Community Cooperation Committee, which includes the high school where the club was founded back in 1905 whenit consisted entirely of students from that school.

They are among the three teams that participated in all the seasons of Süper Lig without ever being relegated.

They are the first and only Turkish team to win a European Competition. We are referring to the UEFA Cup and UEFA Super Cup in 2000.

Galatasaray’s home ground is Nef Stadium in Seyrantepe, Istanbul. The stadium has the capacity of 52,280 spectators.

In 2015, they won their 20th Süper Lig which earned them a fourth star on their crest.

Each star represents 5 Süper Lig wins.

They have rivalries with the two other major football clubs in Türkiye, Beşiktaş and Fenerbahçe.

The derby between Galatasaray and Fenerbahçe is called the  Intercontinental Derby, since Galatasaray is on the European side of Türkiye and Fenerbahçe is on the Asian side.


  • 22 Super League
  • 18 Turkish Cup
  • 16 Turkish Super Cup
  • 1 Turkish National Division
  • 5 Prime Minister’s Cup
  • 1 UEFA Cup
  • 1 UEFA Super Cup

Fenerbahçe Spor Kulübü


Fenerbahçe is another Istanbul-based club that has never been relegated from the Super League. They come from the Fenerbahçe neighbourhood of the Kadıköy district in Istanbul.

They are nicknamed ”Yellow Canaries”.

Their home ground is Şükrü Saracoğlu Stadium, which holds the capacity of 47,834 spectators.

Fenerbahçe were the first Turkish team to ever win a non-domestic trophy, when they won the Balkans Cup in 1968.

They are among the most popular clubs in Türkiye, their fanbase extends beyond Türkiye to Northern Cyprus, Azerbaijan and South Korea and of course among the Turkish Diaspora.

Their rivalry with Galatasaray is the fiercest.


  • 19 Turkish Super League
  • 6 Turkish National Division
  • 3 Turkish Football Championship
  • 6 Turkish Cup
  • 9 Turkish Super Cup
  • 8 Prime Minister’s Cup
  • 1 Spor Toto Cup
  • 1 Atatürk Cup
  • 1 Balkans Cup

Beşiktaş Jimnastik Kulübü

Beşiktaş J.K.
Beşiktaş J.K.

Beşiktaş is among the big three clubs in Türkiye, also based in Istanbul.

They are located in the Beşiktaş district of Istanbul.

The club was founded in 1903 and they have never been relegated from the Süper Lig.

They were the first registered football club in the country and they are among the very few clubs that aquired the right to bear the Turkish Flag on their Crest.

Their home ground is Vodafone Park, which has the capacity of 42,590 spectators.

Beşiktaş Jimnastik Kulübü also participates in other sports: women’s football, basketball (men’s, women’s and wheelchair), volleyball (men’s and women’s), handball, athletics, beach football, boxing, bridge, chess, gymnastics, athletics, parasports, rowing, table tennis, wrestling and e-sports.


  • 16 Turkish Super Lig
  • 3 Turkish National Division
  • 2 Turkish Football Championship
  • 10 Turkish Cup
  • 9 Turkish Super Cup
  • 6 Prime Minister’s Cup

Süper Lig FAQ

How many Süper Lig are there?

There are three Süper Lig which are Super Lig 1 which is the top division, them Super Lig 2and then Super Lig 3.

How many Turkish players are required in Süper Lig?

The rule is known as 8+3. Out of 14 players, 3 of them must be Turkish.

Which is Türkiye’s best team?

Galatasaray, which achieved the most Süper Lig titles (22) and is ranked the 46th best team in the world which is highest that the rest of Turkish Clubs.

livekoora-google-play livekoora-app-store
Copyright © 2022 Live Koora